2016 Awards

2016 Awards

The J. W. Willie York Awards are given to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the creation and continued vitality of thriving communities in the Triangle Region. Those contributions take the form of real estate development, professional services, nonprofit work or public service as reflected in the responsible use of land. Special emphasis is placed on contributions that benefited from the relationships, programs and sharing of best practices through the Urban Land Institute.


J.W. Willie York Community Builder Award

Steve Stroud, NAI Carolantic Realty

Influence Award

Durham Performing Arts Center


Aloft Raleigh Hotel
Charter Square

Innovative Infill Award

801 North West


Durham Central Park Choosing Community
Fairview Row at Five Points

Idea Award

RTP Park Center



CH logo_horiz_clr_NEW











Smedes York, Chair
Frank Daniels, Jr.
Joyce Fitzpatrick
Gordon Grubb
Patricia R. Healy
Emil Malizia
Orage Quarles III
Phail Wynn, Jr.

Awards Committee

David Finger, Chair
Adrienne Cole
Andy Padiak
Gretchen Saussy
Neill Sherron

Host Committee

Ginger & John Ackiss
Dwight Basset
Ingrid & Jerry Beckman
Rae Buckley
Adrienne & Walter Cole
Toby Coleman
Jeff Davis
Bill Derks
David Diaz
David Finger
Roland Gammon
Gordon Grubb
Trish & John Healy
Andy Holland
Marcus Jackson & Nina Goulah
Cari Jones
Daniel Kadis
John Kane
Carman Liuzzo
John Manning
Christine McDonald
Terri Meyers
Mike Munn
Julie & Mack Paul
Alan Peterson
Laura & Chad Quinn
Gretchen Saussy
Daniel Schaefer
Neill Sherron
Roger Stancil
George Stanziale
Steve Vinson
Schelli & Joe Whitehouse
Louise & Phil York
Rosemary & Smedes York
Parker & George York
Larry Zucchino

Award Descriptions

J.W. Willie York Community Builder Award

The Community Builder Award is given to an individual in the field of real estate development or a related sector area such as finance, planning, design or who has made an outstanding contribution in his or her lifetime to a community within the Triangle and eastern North Carolina.

Influence Award

The Influence Award honors projects or policies that influence and/or catalyze development of other projects. This award will highlight the most influential projects from across the Triangle and eastern North Carolina. These projects are generally larger than those in the Innovative Infill category.

Innovative Infill Award

The Innovative Infill Award honors projects or policies that creatively enhance the built environment. The awards category will highlight the most innovative infill, redevelopment and/or public projects from across the Triangle and eastern North Carolina. These projects are generally smaller projects than those in the Influence category.

Idea Award

The Idea Award honors designs, plans or ideas that have not yet been built or implemented, but that could better our community in a new and innovative way.