2015 Awards

The J. W. Willie York Awards are given to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the creation and continued vitality of thriving communities in the Triangle Region. Those contributions take the form of real estate development, professional services, nonprofit work or public service as reflected in the responsible use of land. Special emphasis is placed on contributions that benefited from the relationships, programs and sharing of best practices through the Urban Land Institute.

2015 Awards

For more than 75 years, ULI has been a leading voice in the business community for the dynamic and complex issues surrounding urban growth and the American city. Awards offered by the national organization and its local District Councils set the standard in recognizing outstanding real-estate development projects, related programs and visionaries in urban development.


It was a spectacular night for Triangle real estate! More than 200 ULI members, colleagues, friends and family gathered at the NC Museum of Art on the evening of Oct. 22 to honor those individuals and companies who have made outstanding contributions to the creation and continued vitality of thriving communities in the Triangle Region.

This year’s awards presentation consisted of three categories: the Community Builder, Idea Award and Influence Award.

Congratulations all of our 2015 winners and finalists!

Community Builder Honoree:

CommBuilderImage_forWebJohn M. Kane
, Chairman and CEO of Kane Realty Corporation, recipient of the Community Builder Award for life-time contributions in development and community service.

Idea Winner:

(Project Team: Longfellow Real Estate Partners, Duke University, Measurement Inc., CBT Architects, GBW Strategies)


  • Blue Ridge Corridor Alliance (BRC Stakeholders Advisory Group, Raleigh Urban Design Center, Urban Design Associates – Pittsburgh, JDavis Associates, Martin Alexiou Bryson, RCLCO, Long Leaf Historic Resources , UNC-Chapel Hill under a grant from Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation of North Carolina (Health Impact Assessment))
  • ConAgra Redevelopment (Town of Garner, Garner Economic Development Corporation (GEDC), Sanford Holshouser Economic Development Consulting, O’Brien/Atkins Associates, Peter M. Pellerito, Withers & Ravenel, Wake County Economic Development)

Influence Winner:

(Project Team: Citrix Systems, The Crown Companies, Warehouse District Partners, LLC, Alliance Architecture, Kimley-Horn, First Tennessee National Bank, RCI Builders & Davis Reed, Fountainhead Realty, Schell Bray, Smith Anderson, Davis Moore, Highlands Environmental, Morrison Engineers, Little Diversified, Go Triangle (formerly TTA), NCDEQ, NCDOT, City of Raleigh))


  • Durham Performing Arts Center (Szostak Design, ACPA, LLC, City of Durham, RMF Engineering
    Stewart Engineers, Surface 678, RK&K Civil, Creative Acoustics, Theatre Consultants Collaborative, Professional Facilities Management, Capital Broadcasting Company, Duke University, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina, Carolina Theater, The American Dance Festival, The Hayti Center, Skanska USA)
  • NC State Talley Student Center (NC State University Campus Enterprises, NC State University Facilities Division, Duda | Paine Architects, Cooper Carry, ColeJenest & Stone, MHTN Architects, Stewart, Kimley-Horn, Stanford White)

Sponsored by:

Sponsor logos for web




Smedes York, York Properties, Jury Chair Patricia R. Healy, Hyde Street Holdings Frank Daniels, Jr., News & Observer (Retired) Emil Malizia, UNC CH Department Of City And Regional Planning
Orage Quarles III, News & Observer Kevin Penn, Highwoods Properties Joyce Fitzpatrick, Fitzpatrick Communications, Inc.

Awards Committee:

Brett Hautop, Chair Dwight Bassett Terri Meyers Andy Padiak
Mack Paul Kevin Penn Linda Vuong Wayne Watkins

Host Committee:

Linnie Causey & George Stanziale
Andy Holland
Sig Hutchinson
Cari Jones
Anne Stoddard
Mason Ailstock
Jane Brasier
Gordon Grubb
Hunter & Nicole Burnette
Gary Joyner
Ford Robertson
Neil Gray
Wayne Maiorano
Sepi Saidi
Jim Lumsden
Dwight Bassett
Bret Batchelder
John Kane
Jeff Davis
Andy Padiak
Russ & Chelsea Jones
Terri & Steven Meyers
Toby Coleman & Sara Trace
Willy & Sherry Stewart
Stephen Vinson
John & Willa Kane
Kevin & Kristin Penn
Laura & Chad Quinn
Mack & Julie Paul
John & Trish Healy
Bob Geolas
Brett Hautop
Ken Bowers
David Diaz
Sanjay Mundra
Daniel Kadis
Joe & Schelli Whitehouse
Phil & Louise York